Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I disagree the statement that formal education restricts students' minds and spirits. In the opposite, I believe that education encourages the variaty of thinking.

In the modern education system, students are encouraged to show their own view which motivate independent thought. In many courses in college, students are encouraged to ask questions during classes. Asking question helps student to digest the things that they learned into their own knowledge. Additionally, having a chance to ask question also force students to try to share their opinion to others clearly. Thinking independently and practicing how to share their opinion makes student a independent thinker, which has advantage on setting people’s mind free.

Being well educated also broaden people's view, which is positive to the diversity of the society. Decades ago, schools are not allowed to teach things about homosexual. At that time, there were many misunderstandings about their relationships and the whole society were unfriendly to the group of people. Homosexual couples are seen as a problem in the group and often get bullied. Fortunately, through education, people now understand what homosexual is and a majority group of public are willing to fight for rights. In this situation, education plays an important role in breaking the limitation and could changing the world better.

However, some unproper education design do restrain people's mind. For instance, in China, people were not allowed to discuss certain thesis such as politic problem. People could only say positive thing and learn all the information that supports the honor of the country. The authority government that controls the whole education system restricts people’s mind. China people never have a chance to even think about if they were treated in a right way, in other words, it is hard to realize that they were restricted.

In conclusion, authority formal education might restrict people’s mind. However, a good education system plays an important role in setting people free and changing the world to a more diversity and friendly environment to all groups of people.