Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Some claim that political leaders should abandon principle and yield to the public opinions, however, others believe that leaders should persist in the committed to particular principles. I agree with the latter statement that an effective political leader should remain particular principles rather than compromise with the public opinion.

An effective political leader has the responsibility to make decisions that profit the whole society, but the public’s opinions usually benefit only a particular group of people, leaders should consider more than just public opinions. As an example, people often asked for decreasing taxes or even free taxes. If the political leader compromise with the argument and decreases taxes, the country may consequently bankrupt after a few years. An effective public leader has the responsibility to maintain the welfare of the society, thus it is unpractical to abandon principles in order to compromise the public arguments.

Additionally, committing to the promise shows the credibility of a leader and will make people trust them more. A politician who take an effort to persist in the principles is a perfect leader who can stand for the public. On the other hand, a political leader who breaks the promise they made before, in order to compromise with the criticisms, indicates that he is unstable in his/her manifesto. People often think of them as unreliable and will not vote for them in the next election.

Finally, consistently committed to particular principles and objectives show the core value of the party or politician, it may be confusing if a politician often compromises with public opinion and change his/her position. For instance, there is a leader who used to be opposed to the legalization of same-sex marriage but he wrote a post about supporting LGBTQ on social media after a few years for some political reason. The contradictory movement not only shows that he is an inconsistent person but also confused the supporters.

In conclusion, although public opinion plays a role in political decision, an effective political leader should commit to certain principles and objectives in order to maintain the stability of society.