A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night.

According to an article in a business magazine, only people who need 6 hours or less sleep should be hired. The article came to this conclusion based on the fact that executives in an advertising firm who needed no more than 6 hours of sleep had higher profit margins and faster growth. The suggestion and the rationality behind it may seem plausible at first glance. But before accepting this cessation, the following questions need to be answered.

Firstly, did all executives have the same skill level? Was the comparison done within similar educated and ranks of executives? If the skill levels, rank, and education of the executives had varied, then to consider sleep as the measure of success is absurd. Isn't it possible that these people are good at their jobs cause they are more skilled, not cause they require less sleep? Also, a higher ranking employee with more experience will most definitely outperform an entry level novice. Sleep will have nothing to do with it.

Secondly, is it applicable for all businesses? The article suggests that all businesses should hire people who require 6 hours or less sleep per night. But the study they did was based on an advertising agency. It's a possibility that advertising agency work is less onerous and thus their executives require less sleep to relieve their fatigue. On the other hand, people working in construction work arduously and might require more sleep to exonerate their tiredness and gain the energy. It's not possible to judge all businesses based on the data obtained from a singular business. Each business vary from the other requiring different amount of strength and different amount of sleep for the employees.

Finally, were the executives honest about their sleep cycles? The study done on the executives may not have been anonymous and this may have led the executives to lie in fear of retiliation. The executives may have wanted to impress their bosses and lied that they require less sleep in hopes of showing that they were more productive. The employees may actually require more than 6 hours of sleep. Also, maybe the workload for the previous weeks had been tremendous leading most employees to sleep less than 6 hours and the question asked them to specify the amount of sleep they had in the last week. This made them answer that they require only 6 hours of sleep. But this is not the usual case.

In conclusion, in its present form, the suggestion that businesses should hire employees who require 6 hours or less sleep for a more profitable venture erroneous. The author should answer the aforementioned questions, perhaps in an empirical study to make the article more lucid. This will allow the readers to properly assess the feasibility of the conjecture.