Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Governments face multiple problems at the same time. And the sequence in which these problems are to be solved is not an inconsequential one. The statement provided suggests that government should solve immediate problems rather than the future ones. I agree with this statement to some extent and argue that while government should solve immediate problems in most cases, this might not be the best course of action in some cases.

To begin with, not solving an ongoing problem will result in the people losing confidence on the government. When a government comes into power, its first steps should be to solve the problems that are currently haunting the country’s people. For example, country A has a problem of not having sufficient drinking water and at the same time researchers forecast that there will be an economic meltdown in the next 20 years. If country A ignored the current problem and focused on solving an anticipated one, it would have ignored the current suffering of the people. The people will only see their current problems, not the ones they might face in the future. This would lead the people to lose trust in their government. So, the government should solve the most recent problems to pacify the people and then move on to the complex future problems. This would show the people that their government is working hard to solve all their problems.

Furthermore, there’s a probability that this government might not be in power when the prescient problem had finally occurred, and the new government had completely ignored the previous government’s course of action. Let’s take the previous example of country into account one more time. The government had focused on the future economic problem and ignored the current water problem. This resulted in the people picking a new government. The new government scrapped the previous government’s plan and started a new one. The entirety of government’s work would have been nothing more than a waste of time and resources.

Moreover, the circumstances of today will not be similar to the ones of the future. A different circumstance would require a different approach. There’s no way to predict the future situation. The solution to the problem may be an accurate one for the current state of affairs, but an erroneous one for the future. The probability of the current solution of a future problem to be adaptive to all possible conditions is extremely low. So, it is not advisable to solve future problems since it would most definitely require modification to adjust the conditions.

However, this not always the case. A common example of this is climate change. The governments of the world knew about this problem and the potential dangers of it since 1950s. But they decided to ignore it thinking it’s a problem of the future. This had led to irreversible melting of polar ice caps and near extinction of a lot of species. This problem could have easily been avoided if necessary steps had been taken at that time. But this is just an anomaly. A tangential event cannot be used to nullify a statement. So, in conclusion, it can be said that government should be more focused in solving the current problems instead of future ones.