Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

The proportion of autonomy a government should possess is not an inconsequential one. It is rather a complex and crucial issue. Government officials are the ones responsible for the reforms and legislatures of a country. They have the burden to make the most fortuitous decision. The prosperity of a country is dependent on the decision-making skills of its government. A major issue is how autonomous a government should be. Should a government just use their rationality to make the decision, or should they do what the people want? It’s a simplistic view that it should be one or the other. It is a bit of both. Government officials should mostly consider the will of the people whom they serve but at times should take decisions which is best for their country.

To begin with, a completely autonomous government will end up abusing their power. They will start taking decisions which are propitious for them, not the people, not their country. To illustrate, let’s consider country A where the government is completely autonomous. The elected government has been endorsed by company B. A reform in the legislature is needed which will be beneficial for the people but will decrease the profits of company B. The lobbyists of company B will influence the government to not reform the bill and the government will oblige in hopes for further endorsement. The government and company B will thrive, while the people and country B will suffer.

In addition, the high officials live a comfortable life. They do not live in the same locality or conditions ordinary people live in. They fail to understand the problems ordinary people face daily. The higher up the officials are, the farther they are from the realities of the people. For example, a government official living in a house with 24/7 supply of utilities like electricity, gas and water won’t understand the importance of establishing power stations for a locality with frequent load-shedding. The people within a locality where there’s no power for 12 hours a day will push for a solution. But the government official won’t consider this a big deal and delay this proposition. But had a vote be taken for the proposition acceptance, the people could have solved their problem.

In contrast, some may argue that people may in fact not know what’s best for them. They might end up choosing the wrong choice if given the opportunity to choose. Also, the lobbyist failing to influence government may end up influencing the people. In these situations, the government should take decisions based on their own rationality instead of listening to the people. But this is mostly not the case. A co-operative relationship is needed between the government and the people rather than a fully autonomous government. The government should consider both their cognition and the will of the people before making a decision.