Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Laws govern the society we live in. Without laws, the society will turn into a turmoil. There's law specific consequence for a specific illegal activity. But is it justifiable to give two different persons the same punishment for their misdeeds even though they come from different backgrounds? The prompt says that it's not, circumstances, times, and places should be taken into account before giving a sentence. I agree to this statement and would argue that laws should be flexible for each individual.

To begin with, no one is born a criminal. Circumstances turn an innocent baby to an adult miscreant. So, why is it that people should be judge only on the basis of the crime and not on the circumstances that led to such a crime? It's not fair to not consider them both. For example, let's take Tom and Hank into account, both are guilty of stealing money. Tom grew up in a healthy suburban home with opportunities of good education, while Hank grew up in a slum with little access to education. Tom stole money so that he could buy luxury items, while Hank stole it to feed his baby since he couldn't get a job due to his lack of skills. Is it fair to give both of them the same punishment even though Tom did it on his own accord while Hank was a victim of his situation? It's not. Both the crime and the circumstances needs to be considered. A fair judgement would only be possible if both are considered.

Furthermore, what about age and the relationship between age and crime? A child is more prone to mistakes due to their lack of inexperience and gullibility than an adult. It is absurd to punish an adult and a child with the same law. For example: July, an adult and Mary, a teenager both are guilty of stealing a car. The punishment of stealing a car is 5 years. Isn't it possible that Mary was going through a rebellious phase just like any other teenager? Maybe, a personal tragedy led a well-behaved Mary to do such an heinous crime. Also, would be okay to sentence Mary 5 years in jail without a chance rehabilitation? Mary should be given the help she needs not sent to jail. A proper rehabilitation with therapy might actually help Mary become a paragon citizen.

But, one may argue that a crime is a crime, a criminal is a criminal. There's no redemption for it. If that's the case, then why are there jails? Jails are there to punish the criminals, but also to rehabilitate them. Criminals are given moral lessons, taught basic skills, and even eligible for an education. Even the jails are designed to harbor criminals based on the decree of their crimes. Then why shouldn't the crimes be punished based on what caused it?

In conclusion, Laws should consider circumstances, times and places and choose the best consequence for the guilty so that they don't do the same crimes again. A fair trial is based not only on the basis of the crime but also on why it was committed in the first place.