The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants Recently butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States This change however has had little impact

Here as per the Manager, the restaurant has recently started using margarine instead of butter. As people are not complaining about it, the manager has assumed that customers are happy with the change. Secondly, he is saying that either these customers are not able to distinguish between the margarine or they use the term butter about either of it (butter or margarine).

To support this, he has also provided the fact that, since this change, only 2 % of people have complained,

However, the manager has not provided any more information about this analysis. For example, as mentioned by the manager, the restaurant has recently implemented this change, recently could also mean that they have done this change yesterday only or two days before, we can not reach any conclusion just on the basis of the two day’s data. The point here is that no specific information about the time period has been provided by the author which would strongly support his conclusion. Hence it could be one of the possibilities that only a few people have visited the restaurant. The manager has not even provided the information about the number of people, here I mean 2% of how many people they have considered. it could be possible that only 10 people have visited the restaurant since the change and only 2 people have complained. Hence here, data is not sufficient to conclude that the customers are happy or unsatisfied with the change.

Additionally from the given information, it seems that this conclusion is based on the complaints initiated by the customer, the restaurant has not taken proper feedback from the customers who have visited the restaurant. This gives rise to the possibility that people have noticed the change however, they choose not to complain or say anything about it. Not all customers necessarily complain or give feedback on noticing a change, they just silently move to other better options.

After considering the points, I disagree with the manager's conclusion as it is based on the assumption and insufficient evidence.