Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students

Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectation. Well I fall into both of the categories. I do believe that the teacher should be understanding and empathetic, as students comes from the different backgrounds, with different mindset as well as with the different grasping power. A good teacher is the one who could balance between both of these qualities and all types of the student. Being understanding and empathetic helps teacher to achieve that.

Lets understand this with the help of a scenario, suppose a very bright student is going through some family problems or is being bullied by his classmates. Obviously, in this situation he may not be able to concentrate or focus on his studies and his performance may drop drastically. In this situation a teacher having an empathy or understanding could understand the mental state of the student and could help the student by speaking to him and councelling him to overcome it. Insteaded of burdrning him with the demands or expectations. As in this kind of situations even students know that they are not performing well but they couldn’t help them selves. These demands stress them out and could lead to more negative impact on a student. Hence, I agree that in these kind of situations it is important for a teacher to be emathetic and understanding as being demanding could make the situation worse.

However, I also agree to some extent that teacher could also be regourous or demanding too in some kind of situations. As in my highschool days I have seen my class’s performance improving from a teacher who was regorous and demaning. My class was known for naughty student’s, so a teacher who was empathetic couldn’t survive there, doesn’t matter how skillfull teacher was with the subject. Group of student’s use to make fun of a teacher never paid attention as they knew that the teacher wouldn’t take any harsh actions and can easily fall for emotions.

On the other hand we had a class teacher who was balance of both the things. she was empathetic when she found a student who genuiely needed help. Otherwise whenever she was in the class, she always demanded class to have pindrop silence and full attention. Who ever failed to do that had to stand up for whole lecture. She also demanded that all students to be interactive in her class. So she always use to ask questons to new(student who has not interacted from long time) or random student questions. Hence student had no option but to pay attention. Some student’s even use to give overlook to the topic which will be tought in the class before hand, so that to unerstand it better. This had improved our class’s average performance for that year for her subject. Obviously there were other reasons too for our class to improve performance and she had other qualities too like good command over the subject, empathetic too whenever required, which had helped. But with this example I wanted to show that both the qualities in balance are required to be there for a teacher to deal with the variety of the students.