Some people believe that the most important qualities of an effective teacher are understanding and empathy. Others believe that it is more important for teachers to be rigorous and demanding in their expectations for students.

In a student's life teacher plays an important role in moulding their personalities. A student receives knowledge from his teacher so the way things are taught to them is as important as what is taught to them. Here the claim argues whether a teacher must be understanding and empathetic or rigorous and demanding. I believe that the most important qualities of a teacher depends on how the student is as each one requires a different style of pedagogy.

Let us take an instance about a student who is really languid and lacks interest in doing anything. For a student like this teacher must be rigorous, demanding and strict , then he might do some work due to the pressure created his teacher. students like this expect teacher to be more demanding as sweet talking with them wont motivate them to do some work.

On the contrary if we consider a student who is interested in studies he doesnt need a teacher who is demanding and rigorous. The student rather prefers teachers who are more empathetic and affable who can motivate them to do work without any pressure. In this kind of environment students like this will be more successful.

In some cases students expect empathy and understanding if they are obtuse in a particular field. I had a friend who was really good at mathematics and when she joined in her new college she did not get enough empathy and understanding from her maths sir. this made her slowly lose interest in the subject and she started forgetting the basics of the subject. Incidents like this show how teacher's qualities effect students in understanding a subject.

I feel that teacher should be having all the qualities like being rigorous,understanding,empathetic and demanding. they must use them when necessary depending on the student and the situation they are in rather than sticking to only to some qualities all the time.