The following appeared on the Website Science News Today.

"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

The paragraph here is an article appeared on a website which was a survey of 5000 adolescents. In this survey teens were questioned about the number of meals they had with their families. From this information they had made a study on their grades, depression and self esteem with respect to the the time they spent with their families. Under those conditions they concluded that having more family meals would keep teens from involving in bad behaviours.

Firstly this argument is flawed because the article considers that only family meals stop students from engaging in undesirable actions. there are many other factors which affect the general demeanor of youngsters. What if the teen had friends who were used to taking drugs? wouldn't it influence him to take them? Almost many actions done by youth are majorly due to peer pressure. Even though teens like this have many family meals it wouldn't stop them from using drugs.

Passage here also states that 30 percent of the teens said that they had at least seven meals with their household. Yet it did not give information about the grades or drug usage of those youngsters. The argument does not specify that these teens were having more grades with which they cannot conclude that having more family meals is beneficial

Although it was given that the survey was conducted for more than 5000 people. Clearly there is ambiguity about the number of people taking part in the survey. how many people were actually taken for the survey, was it 5000 or 10000 or more than that?. In reality any survey is considered legitimate only if it is taken for larger set of people. Furthermore if we consider this survey was conducted for only thousands of people the data cannot be truly relied on as they do not represent the entire population.

Finally I feel that this argument would have been more cogent if they had given details like the exact number of people they had surveyed on, the surroundings of the kids, their lifestyle and more precise information about how the survey was conducted.