The following appeared on the Website Science News Today quot In a recent survey of more than 5 000 adolescents the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs tobacco or alcohol Family meal

The author argues that having high number of family means keeps teens from engaging in bad practices. The author's cites data from a survey of more than 5000 adolescents. The author's conclusion is not valid and his argument is not cogent. This argument is rife with holes. The author's view is not substantiated enough to reach this conclusion. The author clearly confused correlation with causation as the proof provided by the author is not strong enough to reach this conclusion. Having high meals with family is merely negatively correlated to the use of drugs and positively correlated to grades and self esteem.

First of all, the survey is not large enough to reach this conclusion. It might be possible that the survey missed out on those adolescents that had family meals and indulged in bad practices as well. It would be beneficial to the argument if the author could survey a larger dataset in which these cases are also included.

Secondly, it might be possible that instead of family meals leading to lower rates of depression, the converse is true i.e. those with lower rates of depression actually ate more meals with their family. And this is true for all the traists mentioned by the author. It is common for families to abandon their children once they are found using illegal drugs. If the author can provide data against this view, only then can we conclude that having meals with family prevents teens from engaging in bad behaviour.

Also, the author cites that about 30 percent of the teens ate at least seven meals with their family in a week. On the basis of this the author concludes that having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors. But the author doesn't provide data on whether those who had more meals with the family were in better position than those who had less meals.

It could even be possible that there were a large number of teens who had more meals than the 30 percent touted by the author but they were still suffering from low self-esteem and higher rates of depression.

The author doesn't take into account various other factors as well for better grades. It is highly probable that those with better self esteem actually had lower rates of depression and performmed better in the school and got better grades. These teens may be the ones who indulged less in drugs, tobacco and alcohol. Maybe low self-esteem is the root cause of all these problems and those with better self-esteem ate more meals with their families.

It can be seen that the author's argument is not well formed and is not cogent. There are a number of other possibities. So we cannot conclude that eating meals with family prevents teens from engaging in bad practices.