In the last year s mayoral election in Town T candidate Miller led candidate Keating by a substantial margin in the polls leading up to the election At the last minute candidate Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements tha

The author of the argument states that just because television advertisements launched just before the elections helped Keating win the elections, Miller (the losing candidate) must do the same this year in order to win the elections this year. There are a number of unstated assumptions that the author doesn't consider while reaching his final conclusion. Without shedding some more light on these assumptions, the author's argument conclusion cannot be considered valid.

Firstly, the author assumes that the last-minute launch of the ads campaign had any substantial effect on the number of votes cast to Keating. It is possible, that launching the ads campaign had very little effect on Keating's win and there were other factors that helped Keating. Maybe some other candidate dropped out last minute and those votes went to Keating. The author should provide evidence for the assumption that launching the campaign helped Keating. If this assumption proves unwarranted, then it is futile to increase coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T.

Even if the author can prove that the ads campaign had a positive effect on Keating's win, there is still a chance that people will still not vote for Miller even if he increases the coverage of the environmental issue. It is entirely possible that the coverage of the environmental issue might not convince people in the same way as it did last year. It might be the case that even if the campaign was successful and people voted for Keating, he didn't take any action and people now feel hoodwinked. They may now hold grudges against these kinds of artifices and this may cause Miller to lose votes rather than gaining them. If the author of this paragraph can prove that this is not the case and people will actually vote for Miller if he launched the campaign, only then should Miller should consider covering this topic.

Considering all the above-stated assumptions are true and having an ads campaign on the environmental issue will have a positive effect on the number of votes cast to Keating, it is still not clear whether the number of votes cast to Miller will help him in winning the election. It is assumed that no other candidate will do this campaign. If all the candidates covered the environmental issue in their campaign and it had a positive effect for all the candidates, then there will be no benefit of doing this campaign as the vote count might not change very much for all the candidates. If this assumption is refuted, then it is pointless to spend money on the environmental campaign.

As we can see that there are a lot of assumptions that have been made before concluding the argument. These include assuming that the ads campaign had a positive effect on Keating's win and it will have the same effect this year. Also, it is assumed that no other candidate will do this and this campaign will solely help Miller. Without proving these unstated assumptions, the author's conclusion is bereft of critical foundations.