In the last year’s mayoral election in Town T, candidate Miller led candidate Keating by a substantial margin in the polls leading up to the election. At the last minute, candidate Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements that focused on preserving the natural environment of Town T, a topic neglected by candidate Miller. Subsequently, candidate Keating won the election by a narrow margin.

This year, if candidate Miller hopes to win the upcoming mayoral election, he must increase his coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In last year’s mayoral election in Town T, candidate Miller first led the polls in the election but at the last minute candidate Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements that focused on preserving the natural environment of Town T and won the election. Here, the action taken by Keating to launch such a topic in market which is neglected by Miller and launching it widely at the last moment as his best sword which he kept to win over his opposition candidate in election teaches a lesson in itself that same can be done by Miller in this year election by launching an unexpected campaign regarding fresh agenda giving no time to the opposition to respond.

The agendas of Candidate Miller in last year’s election which led him in polls till the last moment can be reconsidered and put in front of people with the fresh campaign and innovative way of advertisement. He can expand his area of campaign by taking the advertisement to every media such as radio, television, newspaper, social- media and the like. Here, by connecting with different sources of media to the people, he can connect to every single person in his area and can keep his views more clearly in front of them.

Candidate Miller can also do door-to-door campaign in the town. So, that people can feel close connect with him. While campaigning he can ask people directly to give their opinion about what they wanted from the government and what are the main problems faced by them in the Town. For example any kind of sewage problem and water lodging problem in rainy season in the town and he can give an assurance to solve these problems when he will be in power by including them in his agenda. Additionally, he can also include the essential and common issues needed to be considered in the town such as maintenance of law and order or infrastructure development (such as building of roads, building of parks and others) of the town in his agenda.

However, in this year election candidate Miller not only increases his coverage of preservation of the natural environment of the Town T. In addition to it, he can also recreate and revive those natural elements of the town which are already lost or deteriorating, for example, river or sea-side of the town. He can encourage people to make clean and green town and tell its benefits as healthy natural environment can be a boost for tourism industry of the town. Many people will get jobs as new institutions will be opened up for recreational activities or sports such as river-rafting, surfing and swimming and the like. The money earned by increase in tourism of the town can be used for various kind of upliftment of the town. In addition to it, the revival of river will bring an increase in water resources for the town and together will make a healthy and safe environment for the people.

Miller can also encourage the people to use solar equipment and can include the point in his agenda of putting solar panels on the government buildings of the town which will preserve the environment at the same time saves money at long run and also gives clean energy. He can also encourage putting sewage treatment plants on releasing industrial waste from private firms and can also treat town’s waste before reaching into the rivers. He can also include of planting of a particular number of trees in his agenda.

Therefore, only increasing his coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T will not be enough and doesn’t provide the fuller assurance of winning of the Candidate Miller. Hence, before starting the campaign for this year elections he needs to consider the above mentioned points and need to campaign harder and at the vast level and advertise innovatively connecting closely with the people of the town.