Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the statement author suggests that schools should eliminate funds for extracurricular activities when in the need of repair. Sometimes, it is possible that schools need to take difficult decisions but the difficulty determined from case to case. For instance, the decision regarding repair of weak roof or water tank are highly essential while the money needed for re-painting of schools is not that necessary and can be done on yearly basis after 5 to 6 years but repair in the first case need to be done on priority basis since it will affect the academics of the student and can also be dangerous for the school and the students.

While, the extracurricular activities such as arts and sports are essential for students to make them healthy and active. As a result they can earn good grades and can also become famous and experts in the field of arts and sports which in turn will be a great advertisement for the school, possibly increasing its enrollment and revenue at higher level. The arts and sports has a huge scope where it can bring popularity to school such as at inter-school competitions or at international level like the Saurabh Chaudhary, the gold medalist who brought fame to his country at international level and at the same time to his school and village because of sports. There are many more that also brought fame to their schools at higher levels all because of sports and arts.

Nevertheless, schools can close those particular activities which are less popular among the students saving their funds. Schools can also postpone the events which consume lots of money such as annual function or D.J. night and such others. Further, schools can also save their money by not having school picnics or tours for a little while during the time of repair. They can also try to change their schedule by conducting period of arts and sports once in a week rather daily, if it can save the required funds for the school.

On the other hand, in spite of cutting funds on extracurricular activities there can be more options which school can consider getting the money required for the repair. Schools can look for other revenue sources such as school can ask for funds from the trustees of the school or society in which it is situated. If possible, they can also revise the fee which can earn an increased amount of revenue to the school. It can also advertise for more enrollments in the school which in return will increase its revenue with more admissions.

Hence, just sticking to the idea of cutting the funds of extracurricular activities doesn’t sounds good and more options can be considered or looked to collect the required amount for the repair. The idea of cutting funds on extracurricular activities for the repair in the school gives rise to the question that what is the condition of school, where its fund goes. Since, school which is cutting funds of these activities today may be in future it will close the required academic things like laboratories or classes if it will not find the proper sources of revenue and if it will not save the money properly for emergency use.

So, the conclusion is given in the proverb that “All work and no play make jack a dull boy.” Hence, school without extracurricular activities and students without play seems very colorless. And the school needs to take the decision keeping all things in mind. Since, physical health gained by games and mental health needed for academics go hand–in-hand so, accordingly school can try more options to resolve their problem for funds needed in repair.