Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Schools are the place where education is given the utmost importance. Education holds priority over every other matter. But even if it remains the primary focus of any school, attention needs to be given to extracurricular activities such as sports, arts and various other non-academic activities. The idea about schools cutting the funding for extracurricular activity in order to repair the buildings is somewhat disagreeable.

With all the kinds of global level competitions going on around the world, the participants need to start polishing their skills at a very early age. That kind of training can be given during their time at school. Schools as a result keep aside funding that are completely used for extracurricular activities. There are many state, national and international competitions for children as well. The participants or athletes may not be able to afford the equipments or the training required on their own. Schools during such times should help the candidate pursuing the sport wholeheartedly. It may seem to be a bad idea to cut the funding and use it for building repairs. The student may rise above others in the competition with flying colours and in turn would make a name for the school. So the repairs can still wait and try to find an alternate way of funding.

There is another reason for the schools not to cut the funding. This is a significant reason that would make people disagree with the statement. Nowadays, in today’s lifestyle with the entire hectic schedule for students and the increasing fast food chain disturbs the diet of a majority of the students. As it is very well known ‘Health is Wealth’, it becomes very important to become health conscious. By compelling the students to do extracurricular activities regularly it would help in maintaining their health and physique in a great condition. This in turn would make some students love a particular sport and he or she may keep on with it and would turn out to be super athlete for the nation in coming future. Apart from sports, certain individuals are more inclined towards the artistic side and would like to pursue their interest in the same field. By cutting the funding it would hamper their activities for an appreciable period of time. It can cause stress as they would not be able to carry on with their art.

However, there is another angle through which the above idea can be viewed. The school building is in a terrible condition and needs repairs. The only possible way to divert some lacking funds is to cut funds for extracurricular activities. For such a situation, for the school to be in a working state should cut off the funds. The idea of cutting off the funds for extracurricular activities would be depending on the situation. There is no recent upcoming competition and the school can then make redistribution of funds to repair the building of the school.

The topic at hand is a very complex issue. The opinions may differ from person to person and thus are no easy answers. As mentioned earlier it would certainly depend on the situation whether to cut funds for the extracurricular activities such as sports and arts or not.