Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Business can be generally classified as small, moderate and large scale. Here the claim is that the government should play a minimal role in the private business matters in order for the small business to thrive successfully. In my opinion I strongly disagree with the claim for the following two reasons.

Firstly, the small businesses are the ones that are usually small start ups and are not in the market for a long period of time. That is they are the new business set-ups. The intervention of the government can positively help the business to grow profoundly. For instance the public sectors which are the ones controlled by the government are sometimes in need of a complementary product for their industries or business. The complementary product that they received till now was from a bigger and well settled business. But their diversion towards the small business set-up which provides them with the same product at cheaper rates than at what they used to get will help the small business to thrive greatly. As a result for that small business the government played a huge role for their success. That small business will be highly grateful to the government for their help which will help them to create a name for themselves in the market. Thus in the initial stages government’s involvement benefits the small businesses.

Secondly, the since the small business are usually just start-ups, the required legal formalities of taxes and various other matters are too big a stress for them. Consider for example, if the government thinks that the business idea is promising enough and will create good economic returns for the business as well benefit the government in some or the other way, it can exempt or wave off certain taxes for the small business. In a way it makes the small business a little bit stress free so that it can focus on making the business a successful venture. With such exemptions from the government the small businesses can focus on their products to develop faster and help the government in return with good economic returns.

There is a possibility that government intervention in the private business matters may create a bit of a hindrance in the progress of the small business by compelling the business to restrict some of its activities due to the certain restrictions imposed onto the, by the government. However, that rarely is the case with small business. As a result the government intervention will always prove beneficial to the small business seeking to thrive in the market