Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

According to the claim, the government should play a minimal role in private business matters in order to help small businesses grow and flourish. This claim need not be always true as there can be few disadvantages involved in government interference.

The primary duty of a government of any country would be to take care of the welfare of its citizens and maintain good international relationships. Taking up a role in all small private businesses would be difficult for the government to make up time for other important activities. Also, who in the government would be assigned for such a position will be a question. The assigned resource should be competent enough for taking decisions in small businesses.

Small private organizations are usually founded by intellectual people to wish to start a business on their own. Government interference in such a business would hinder them from taking quick, independent decisions and might deviate the organizations’ goals.

In certain cases, given a role in the matters of business, the government could bring out initiatives such as investment in infrastructure, people, finance and other resources which would help the business grow rapidly.

Overall, its not necessary for a government to play a minimal role in small businesses. Small businesses should be allowed to thrive and grow independently.