In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports like swimming boating and fishing among their favourite recreational activities . The Mason River flowing through the cityis rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason river. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author of this proposal to increase the amount of money allocated in the coming year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities does not explain a cogent case to consider.

One of the factors considered is to what extent we can rely on the conducted surveys. Surveys do not always give with quality results. It depends on amount of people who responded to the survey and the coverage as to whether all residents of the state participated or only those living along the river. People near the riverside maybe more biased and would respond positively for water sports which may not be the case otherwise.

The author mentions that the city park department invests a part of the budget for maintenance of riverside recreational activities. However, there are complaints from few citizens regarding the quality of the water and smell of the river. This implies poor maintenance level. Proper use of the sanctioned amount should be ensured before taking up the proposal for increasing the portion of the budget for water sports. We also need to consider the number of received complaints. What if more complaints are received from few people indicating not all residents would want the proposal to be accepted.

The assumption of increase in water sports activity after cleanup drive of the river should be reconsidered. If people rank water sports to be their favourite recreational activity does not mean they have to use water sports, some people like to watch the game being played as well.

Considering all above factors, the author's argument does not justify the increase in the state government’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.