All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

According to the claim, companies hire outside consultants for suggestions to operate more efficiently. The author further claims that if they were to spend more time listening to the employee feedback, it would be unnecessary to hire such consultants.

Companies should spend more time listening to their employees rather than consulting other firms. Employees of a company will be aware of the prevalent working environment and are good resources to suggest solutions for improvement. They will be able to come up with ways to improve the current situation in order to operate more efficiently. Employees usually know what is going right and what is wrong in an organization. Collecting that feedback will help the companies to operate more efficiently. Some of the dissatisfaction of the employees will be brought up, given more time for listening to the feedback. Those can be corrected to make the environment more comfortable. More comfortable the environment is, more productive the work and a good working environment will help the companies to function smoothly.

Outside consultants hired by companies may not have the core business idea about a company and might not be able to suggest helpful ways to improve the current operation. Also if the employees disagree the suggestions given by outsiders it might cause chaos within the organization, thus hindering it to operate well. Also a solution used to improve a condition in one company may not work for another. The consultants are in a drawback here. It would be better if a company asks its employees rather than hiring outsider.

On the other hand, consultants would have worked in different companies and may have experienced different situations and may have come up with different solutions to improve the operations. Also they might be a connoisseur to solve a particular problem in a company. Further consultants can be asked to come up with different solutions and the team leaders can pick one based on their or their employees interest. Sometimes taking an experts solution is better than working out trial and error method by incorporating ways suggested by employees not aware of a certain problem.

So, it would be better if companies spend more time listening to their employees through surveys, questionnaires, meetups to discuss ways to improve the current situation and operate more efficiently. Hiring outside consultants would be unnecessary if employees are able to provide good suggestions in order for the company to operate more efficiently.