Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

The author of the argument claims that many lives can be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, the author proceeds explaining that there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of inoculation. So the permission for administering against cow fly routinely should not be given.

One of the first question to be answered is whether inoculations exist for cow flu. For some deadly diseases like cancer, vaccines are not available. There will not be a question of inoculation administration for all people in areas where the disease is found if the vaccine does not exist. Second point to be evaluated is why inoculations to all people. Does cow flu spread by air, point of contact or is it hereditary or by chance.

Routine administeration of inoculations may not be required to prevent spread of diseases. For example some vaccines are administered to humans only once in their lifetime. Vaccines contain virus that cause a particular disease. Antibodies for that virus are generated by the human body once the vaccine is injected into a human being. Such antibodies are present for the entire lifetime of humans. So the author should consider whether routine vaccine injections are required.

Further, the author should take into account the number of people who have died as a result of inoculations. The author has mentioned about a small possibility of death which has to be verified by medical professionals if there are cases of death due to inoculation. We also have to consider the ratio of death is to survival in order to decide against the permission to administer inoculations for cow flu. For example, the ratio of death : survival is 1 : 9999999, then not administering inoculations to people would be a bad idea since the survival count is drastically higher. We also need to consider the death count if not provided inoculation for the disease.

As per the above points, there are some gaps in the argument of the author. Some evidences and examples are required to decide with the author's argument.