Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In

developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The perfect relationship between the country's government and its business sector has been a debated topic since time immemorial. countries across the globe have adopted different approaches to the issue and have witnessed consequences both good and bad. The author in the above claim states that this perfect relationship can be achieved if the government isolates itself from private business matters as much as possible. Though it is reasonable to argue private business are best when given the freedom to function in the most profitable manner and efficient manner, without severe interference from the government, to assume that this should be case with every business in the country is far-fetched and can often lead to unintended results.

China, a country that is known for the control its government assumes on its businesses, experienced massive development as it transitioned from a third-world country to one of the world's biggest economies over the decades. this control helped authorities make sure that resources were equally distributed amongst its citizens, that no one individual continued to have an advantage. Meanwhile,it also ensured that entrepreneurs were sufficiently incentivised and markets regulated so as to cater to the needs of all people, wealthy or not. However, this is definitely not an example of all good and no flaws. Many individuals native to the country are known to have migrated to countries that were lenient with accumulation of wealth and allowed individuals to take advantage of their skills and resources to gain the upper hand in society. These trends have called for discussions on the appropriate amount of control to be exerted so as to keep talents of the country witin itself, without losing it all to its competitors.

Its close neighbor, India, is another country where events took place in a different sequence. Breaking free from the ties of its colonizer, the country decided to adopt a relatively socialist approach to development, whereby state-owned enterprises pioneered in every sector and private institutions were heavily monitored and licensed. Things took a downturn when it faced fiscal crisis and was unable to compete with its global conterparts. The best medicine to the disease was to boost private presence in the country.

The reason why minimized role of the government can be helpful for the country is supported by the fact that suppliers and buyers of any product function so as to maximize their rewards. interference of the government merely disrupts this equilibrium. Therefore, while I do considerably agree with the author's claim, it is dangerous to suggest that governments play no role in the business sector. equal development of all sections of the society cannot take place unless authorities make sincere efforts to uplift weaker sections out of poverty. so, in conclusion the best way to ensure that businesses thrive is to provide them with freedom to maximize their efficiency accompanied by necessary and minimal regulations, but for the greater good of the economy it is also vital that the government steps in once a while to ensure that the goals of individual businesses are aligned with national goals.