Topic

Technology causes more problems for modern societies than it solves.

Directions: Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that technology as we know today creates more problems for humans than solve dilemmas or issues. Though it is quite tempting for a reader to be easily trapped in the stated opinion, I disagree with the above claim. It is true that technology over the years has portrayed few flaws that were never intended but to generalize this as a common outcome of technology is nothing but far-fetched.

The primary expansion of technology and its allied uses can be witnessed in the trading sector. Firms increasingly exploit their technological resources to stay atop their competitors, stay relevant with consumer behavior and be pioneers in innovation. Any business that sold products or services to its customers, traditionally had a physical store, one that customers could visit to inspect products and then make decisions. But time has passed and so have many preferences. Time is the new money and convenience is always desired. Technology has thus allowed these businesses to alter their method of sales, mainly by creating an online presence, connecting with customers probably geographically distant and presenting your products to them without calling for actual contact.

Another breakthrough area where technology has been much lauded is the medical field. The use of technology for medical research, diagnosis and treatment has opened numerous paths which may not have been completely possible with manual labor, especially at this short a time period. It has enabled doctors to be more accurate of their diagnosis, treat diseases that could be associated with the tiniest of cells, those naked to the human eye. Technology has also made it possible to store data of previous patients, their symptoms and treatment procedures which facilitates doctors to instantly capture the crux of the issue without having to spend precious time going to hundreds of patient records.

All these advantages surely point to the fact that technology had showered massive benefits. But this is not to say that there are no defaults. Drawing upon the above examples, it is also necessary to point out that the use of technology by businesses it quite susceptible to scams, vulnerable to technical glitches and creates room for much misinterpretation. Users are often unaware of policies, they are lured with false advertisements and are at times looted using their financial details. The use of technology in medicine has made possible gene alteration, something previously unimagined off. This not only calls for caution but also questions the ethical aspect of the field. Other problems that technology has brought about includes pollution from factories or automobiles, uncertainty of employment and so on. But these reasons cannot be used to conclude that technology only adds to problems. Rather with every new discovery and technological development comes an added challenge with needs to be worked upon.

It opens ways for people to ponder and unravel new areas that may be left unnoticed had technology not been present.