"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

The excerpt from the aeronautics magazine states that greater resources should be used to build unmanned space flight. The reason for this argument is sighted as the risks involved in sending humans into space and the recent success stories that accompanied the unmanned space probes and satellites that were sent to space. While the conclusion provided by the author is seemingly correct, a closer reveals that it is not completely justifiable.

Firstly the drawn conclusion is based on a number of assumptions that if cannot be proved diminishes the strength of the argument. The author points out that manned flights carry huge costs and risks by making use of humans. A man or women being sent to space must be specially trained and compensated and if anything unfortunate were to take place, authorities not only lose money on the invested project but lose valuable human life which is beyond other loses. But the author gives no information as to whether the production of these many unmanned space equipments is a viable option. Considering that no human would be in control of it, it requires every function to be entered into the system beforehand. If such work adds to costs heavily, a replacement of manned space flights with unmanned ones cannot be easily considered.

Moreover, the author fails to give accurate numbers on the number of launched projects and the proportion of successful ones. If the number of success stories is far lesser than the total number of launched space probes, it is not advisable to assume that unmanned space flights are completely reliable and efficient. If sending unmanned space flights were definitely less risky, more economical and as efficient as manned space flights, it would have been a goal for nations to quickly switch their strategies. The absence of this immediate switch reveals that there is various aspect to be considered before such decisions are made and changes implemented. The passage throws no light on these aspects and so it is difficult to agree with the opinion of the author.

The inference that has been drawn can be strengthened if the author provides accurate statistics of the proportion of success stories of unmanned space flights to aggregate launches, gives insightful details on the costs involved in increasing the production of these satellites, and lastly gave reasons to why such adaptations weren't made already and that these reasons can now be overcome with current resources and technological know-how.