Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position,

Government, as the administer of a country’s economy, bears the responsibility of thriving its nation’s prospect of economy and business, as economy is one of the fundamental pillar of a nation’s development and competitivity on a global view. It is somehow disputable that whether a nation should raise its hand in administering those small enterprises and allow market to play its own rules of the game. Undoubtedly, small enterprises are critical part of composition of a country’s total GDP. Nevertheless, the number of small companies take an enormous portion of the total number of companies in a nation. Thus, we can never ignore the significance of small businesses. And government should play a significant role in creating peaceful and harmonious environment for them to thrive, as far as I am concerned.

To start with, government could strengthen the equality of the market across industries. We realize that some industries are already monopolized by big tycoons. And small companies could hardly find any opportunities to make a living in this situation. Product quality and price of the industries are simultaneously manipulated by big enterprises. To balance the resource of the market, and allowing the opportunities for small companies, government’s control on equal competing is required. The emerge of public shared bicycle service in China shows a thriving start, as many companies begin to jump in this virgin industry. Each company is competing to get a larger share of market in the sacrifice of its profit, thus only few companies survived in the end. We could have viewed more successful companies in this market, if government were there to limit the lowest price of operating.

Moreover, government’s financial aiding contributes to the boost of small business as well. Small company owners like fresh graduates, or undergraduates are passionate to make a difference out of the campus. It is quite exciting news for them if government were to give a tax reduction. This could greatly release their financial pressure on the start of business and unleash their flexibility and creativity in their business. Same goes for companies that focus on high-technology and companies in less-developed areas. With a minor benefit policy on loans could resolve big headache for small companies.

However, when we recognize the power of government’s role in assisting small business, it doesn’t mean government should control how small business should behave and operate. Too much indication and might hurt the enthusiasm of small enterprises and limit companies’ activities. We expect that government should appear only when it is necessary.

In summary, small business will prospect in high possibility when government is creating an equal and harmonious environment. It could play a role of mitigating the trouble across the whole market and shred light to small business when they are stuck in darkness. Meanwhile, government’s power could only play a positive influence in a good control.