The perceived greatness of any political leader has more to do with the challenges faced by that leader than with any of his or her inherent skills and abilities.

Many people believe that it is the hardship and impediment that shape a great political leader, since they have demonstrated their tremendous contribution through the difficult times and brought people new hope for the future. However, it is not always true to claim that the challenges actually attribute to great political leaders, in fact what makes a great leader stand out of the era is his personal leadership skills and his long-term insight. The inner abilities play a larger role in sculpturing an excellent political leader.

First of all, we consider some political leaders as great by evaluating if they are responsible for a major revolution or legislative regulations that significantly enhanced the quality of people lives or the overall country’s social environment. They make such decisions due to their fabulous strategic thinking and magnificent leading skills. This conduct can be executed under challenging situations as well as peaceful environment. We can also find so many underperformed leaders, even they are under hard time. The truth is: a great leader is shaped by his abilities and skills rather than the environment he lives in.

Often times, we realize the fantastic change a great political leader is bringing in hard times, but we are inclined to ignore the immense efforts political leaders devoted in maintaining same proudful economic growth and scientific breakthroughs. People tend to give a higher standard to recognize a great leader in temperate eras. A great leader is able to sustain the current booming economy and adjust existing social conflicts and problems. Anyone without sophisticated skills and abilities are not capable of delivering such successful results. The inner abilities of a leader counts much more than the era he stands in.

In addition, people might say political leaders are challenged to make revolutions and lead improvements only under certain situations. They are forced to make an adjustment in the pressure of unpleasant sometimes unbearable environment. Imagine if we put any incapable person in a same challenging position, we couldn’t expect him to conduct any inspirational or effective policies that could make a positive influence to the society, because he is not aware of how to control the situation or provide and practical solutions.

So, it is rash to conclude that challenges shape a great leader.

To conclude, we cannot simply account the contribution of a great leader to the period he is situated, instead we should realize what his characteristics and abilities that lead him to accomplish the success. Moreover, we should not use same criteria to evaluate leaders under different periods of challenges. That is unfair to actually a well-performed leader under a peaceful era. The inner abilities and leadership skills are what make a great leader in a contemporary world.