The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company."Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appli

In this memo of a power company, the author points out his conclusion that the demand for energy will not increase and thus, establishing a new power plant is not necessary. He holds that opinion based on a survey that indicates the rise of marketing energy-saving home appliances, as well as the fact that technology is effective in reducing the need for home heating. However, the author is standing on some weak assumptions which lack enough support. Thus, his conclusion is unpersuasive and disputable.

To start with, the author assumes that people nowadays are purchasing more energy-saving home appliances, which would lead to a significant reduction in energy demand. Whereas the passage only mentions the consumer’s awareness of energy-efficient is improving and manufacturers are advocating on their promotions for these products, leaving the question: whether the actual purchase of these energy-efficient products is increasing or not? We cannot find an answer from his evidence. Probably his evidences are true, while due to the high price of energy-saving products, people’s consuming behavior is not changed and they are more willing to buy the cheap and energy-costive product. In this case, the demand for energy might not be reduced.

Furthermore, the argument holds a fallacious assumption that the reduction in home heating energy represent the holistic decrease in energy-consumption. Indeed, the new technology would greatly contribute to the saving of home heating. Seems that there is a variety sources of energy consumption, like lighting, machinery, wind etc. that should be taken into consideration. Only by substantiating the decline in heat is not strong enough to draw a conclusion that demand for energy might decline slightly.

Finally, the author assumes that the capacity of his plant will remain the same and the needs will not increase either. Let us suppose his assumption for future demand is valid. Simply by ignoring the possibility that 3 electric generating plants will keep providing identical supply is doubtful. The author forgets to take a look at the facilities and labor force at plant. Are these elements meeting the requirement to remain a consistent supply capacity? Only until the author justifies the sustaining level of demand and a consistent supply of the 3 plants, can we confidently claim that an additional power generating plant is not necessary.

To summarize, the author’s speculations lack enough evidences, and would lead to incorrect conclusion. To strengthen it, the author needs to evaluate other aspects which would impact on the demand and supply of energy. Without giving an overall assessment of all possible situations, the conclusion by opposing the construction of a new plant is not convincible.