The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College."To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current

This letter is proposing to build a new dormitory in the university to release the increasing pressure of student’s accommodation. And it is claimed that this practice will attract prospective students to apply for Buckingham. However, there are some major points the author fails to substantiate to convince the reader that the short dormitory supply is true, and by establishing a new dormitory will eventually help mitigate the gap between short supply and increasing demand. Here lists three major aspects where the letter lacks further illustration.

To begin with, the letter mentioned the rental fee for apartment has increased, which made it difficult for students to afford. From this statement, what we can speculate is that price is getting high to rent an apartment, but how much does it increased compared to the original level is not mentioned. Meanwhile, whether students are capable to tolerate the increase is not discussed either. If the level is still beneath what students are able to afford, then the increasing housing needs may not seem a serious problem for the university. Moreover, the letter assumes that a new dormitory building will definitely attract more student to get enrolled at Buckingham. This point lacks enough evidence to support as well. Will the new dormitory charge more than the apartment off-campus? We don’t know. Will more students enrolled in Buckingham only because they offer a less dormitory charge? We don’t know.

Secondly, there is no enough evidence to testify that the requirement for dormitory is in shortage. A stretching and inadequate supply of dormitory is based on the fact that the university’s enrollment is augmenting. And this trend will likely continue to reach double of the current level. Giving the current growing number of enrollment, we cannot simply assume that the demand for university dormitory will increase accordingly. There are numbers of students who would choose to live at home or off-campus due to various reasons. Unless a survey is conducted to check the student’s living preferences, can we conclude that the increasing accommodation demand is valid.

Last but not the least, there is no demonstration in this letter to persuade us that building a new dormitory will solve the problem of housing constraint in the university. Let us assume that the demand is valid, and the current dormitories are indeed in shortage. Does it mean that the university must build a new apartment building to meet this need? Is there other ways to release the tense? We cannot find such answers in this letter. Constructing a new building will surely help to provide more housing space, but definitely cost a big deal. If the university could transform the existing single rooms into double rooms, this would reach a same goal at a much lower cost, why wouldn’t the university consider another option?

In summary, this proposal in this letter seems to release the current constraint the university is facing. However whether building a new dormitory will attract more enrollment for Buckingham, and whether it is worthy to invest in a new dormitory , we need more discussion to rule out other possibilities to prove itself to be valid. Thus , we need more consideration before university dean to make such a decision.