Although innovations such as video,computers,and the internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students,these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

I’m a big fan of online-learning. Whatever the subject is, as long as I’m interested in, I can click my key words on the internet, and myriads of resources and free online courses will jump out. While excited to open the video and start crack the concept of the subject, I soon am soon distracted by several message alert from my Facebook account—Lily and Minty have commented on my post, then I spontaneously abandon my learning page and switch to my page of Facebook. I guess I’m not the only one who much often is distracted by messages or entertainment flooded on the internet through mobile phones, Ipad, social media applications etc. And people start to blame such technology used nowadays can be a stonewall to let us concentrate on studies. As far as I’m concerned, it is not the technology itself to be blamed, instead, we human being are misusing the technologies and sometimes indulge ourselves in a world of fun and comfort that is leading us to the wrong way.

First of all, I do recognize the tremendous advantages and benefit that great innovation and technologies has made today’s learning more flexible and available. By breaking the traditional teaching mode in the classroom, students can now sit in their homes and start self-learning with internet access to a PC. Further, students could join a webinar to discuss certain topics and even go digging into deeper level of the subject based on their interest. Internet as a revolution has provided profound convenience and resources for today’s learning.

However, some may argue that as the technology continues to develop, people begin to feel their life indispensable from mobile phones, and thus greatly impact on the quality of learning and working. Video games, social media applications, shopping websites take a great amount of time people’s life. The usage record of time people spend on mobile phones can reach to 4 hours a day which equals to half of the standard working time. The fact is, a lot of people keep those means of entertaining around them, when they are simultaneously doing study and research. It is extremely difficult for us to get rid of these distractions due to our natural habit. Albeit, we cannot simply refute that the fault must go to the innovation. Since these technologies do help us relieve our pressure and fulfill the monotonousness of our lives. It is when people make inappropriate habit and abuse the technology that incur such negative impacts.

If people could take a good balance between their study and having fun, and we can avoid chances to let technology destroy our study. Successful leaders have known this rule of distraction, they tend to stay away from those things that would prevent them from achieving their target. Hence, when we are studying, trying to put mobile phones away, and close all social media accounts would create a peaceful environment that allows us to focus on our subject.

In summary, i believe that technology has its benefits and disadvantages, it is how people manage and utilize it that makes the result different. To learn the skills of keeping distractions away will profoundly increase our studying and working quality.