The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn

In this argument, the city council is recommending to replace the incandescent bulbs in public buildings to light-emitting diodes, on purpose of reducing the electrical cost in the future. To demonstrate on this point, it is mentioned that LED lights burn brighter and don’t cost any money to purchase more. However, this argument doesn’t provide concrete evidences to prove that switching LED bulb will eventually reduce electrical cost. Here are several aspects the author fails to substantiate.

First of all, the conclusion that the effect of switching LED will bring down the electrical cost in the future is rough and not convincible. The author doesn’t clarify on the period of “future”. Is it 3 years ,5 years, or 10 years, we don’t know. Meanwhile, it is assumed that the amount of electricity consumed will decrease and the cost in an identical amount of electricity will thus be reduced. Seems the author forget to count in the replacing charge initially for all public buildings, which will include material fees, labor fees, installation fees etc. If these costs were added up to the total cost, the final charge might be higher in near future instead of being lower. The author need to provide how the cost is made up and in how many years will the cost be reduced, before he makes such a conclusion.

Furthermore, not enough comparation is given to prove that the cost will be reduced after the installation of LED. It might be true that LED burns brighter and cost no more to purchase. And merely by stating these facts is not strong enough to convince us the cost will go down. Yes, the LED burns brighter, but will it consume more electricity, in order to give more light? What is the relation of ‘burns brighter’ and ‘saving money’, we need more elaboration on this point. Moreover, the price per bulb is not mentioned in this argument. If an LED bulb cost higher than an incandescent bulb, then how can we believe replacing LED bulb in all public buildings will lower the electricity cost?

In addition, the amount of electricity consumed before and after the installation of LED light is not mentioned. To conclude a cost is reduced, we need to firstly understand if unit price is reduced, then if the quantity stays the same or lower. Only when we meet both conditions, can we give a rational conclusion that the final cost will decrease. Whereas, there is no evidence in this argument to state the amount of electricity will be reduced after LED installation.

To summarize, this argument is weak in its demonstration of saving money in electricity cost in the future. To further strengthen on this argument, the author must include more data comparation in unit cost and the quantity of consumed electricity. Expect that, the reader also need to be informed how the cost is reduced and when in the future can we expect a cost decrease.