The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council’s proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council’s prediction.

The argument mentions how a city council of Town X’s decision to shift from incandescent lamps to LEDs will help save money on electrical expenses in future. The idea in first glance seems noble but lacks conviction, as it does not answer questions that challenge its claims.

The main question to the claim by city council is that it has not been established that that incandescent bulbs in public buildings are responsible for a major electrical expense of the Town. In case this relation is not established there is no point in changing to LEDs as the expenses would remain the same since the incandescent bulbs were never a problem in the first place.

Another point that threatens the argument is the assumption that there is a need for brighter lights. Has the council conducted relevant research to come to a conclusion that the Town needs brighter light? Would the residents of the Town accept a change in public lighting? It may be a case that the residents may not like to have LEDs in public space and in which case the proposal would be a waste of effort.

The last point put forth by the council that switching to LEDs would help save electrical costs in future is subjective in nature. After how many years will the process of switching from incandescent to LEDs will be beneficial? It cannot be assumed that sometime in ‘future’ it will be effective as the technology changes every few years. And a better technology may just make LEDs redundant in near future. We can ask weather a cost benefit analysis was done prior to this suggestion?

The city councils arguments stands on weak ground as they are not supported by factual information and proper research required to conclude that switching from incandescent lights to LEDs will make a difference in the electrical costs. Without which the prediction of the council would be nugatory instead of an informed decision.