The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light emitting diodes LEDs The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn

The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city’s electric expenses by switching all the lights in public buildings from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The city council argues that this will be an effective move to save the city's electric expenses as LED bulbs burn brighter and their costing is same as the incandescent bulbs used previously. Since they burn brighter, one bulb might be able to cover bigger surface areas and thus, the overall number of bulbs used might be less in number.

However, the efficacy of the city council's decision rests on a lot of points. First of all, even though, the LED lights burn brighter do they burn for as long as the incandescent lights used previously? Otherwise, cost of switching LED bulbs more often might surpass the cost the city saves by switching. Moreover, since it is mentioned that they burn brighter, one might question if they consume more energy than an average incandescent bulb? Do their use also create an increase in one's electric bills? The council should also consider whether LEDs would increase the overall energy consumption, and as a result the electric bill amount, of the entire city.

Another point of contention would the point of switching in itself. The council says that the switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out. Do the LED bulbs work with the same socket as the previously used incandescent ones? If not, what is the cost of changing the old sockets and installing new ones? Do they work with the same electrical connections or will the city circuits need refurbishing? If so, these will introduce a much higher cost than just letting old LEDs burn out. If there are more than two bulbs already connected in a circuit and one of them is burning out, does it mean we can substitute only one bulb and leave the other bulb as it is? If not, we might also have to throw out old bulbs in good condition, which will also incur additional losses on the council's part.

Also, the city council should also consider other unintended factors which might result from this switch. Since it is mentioned that they burn more brightly, do they also cause greater heating effects? If yes, this might increase the use of air conditioners and fans in the public buildings which might again increase cost output of the city. Furthermore, we should also consider questions like whether the use of LED lights might cause any potential environmental harm etc. which might need a greater monetary investment from the council in the future.

Thus the efficacy of the council's idea rests on only one argument - LED lights burn brighter - which as already mentioned might not be a good thing in itself (Do they burn out quicker? Does it consume more energy? Is there more cost of maintenance?). Moreover switching out old bulbs to new might not be a very cost effective method which has been glossed over by the city council. While it may actually be a good idea and help Town X save more money, we cannot simply deduce it from the given argument itself.