All too often companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees such consultants would be unnecessary

Big multinational companies often depend upon experienced consultants to guide them towards operating more efficiently. The given conjecture states though, that, if these companies listened more to their own employees instead, such consultants would be unnecessary. However, while listening to opinions of their own employees is important, in my opinion, it would be more more beneficial to consult outside professionals. Let me explain why.

First of all, outside consultants would give a different perspective to the company's problems. Since the employees have a real stake in the issue as it concerns them first-hand, they might be shortsighted or look for their own gains instead of the company as a whole. Thus, they might not be fully objective unlike a neutral outsider who can identify the exact problem more objectively.

Secondly, these outside consultants are more qualified to identify and solve issues regarding the efficiency of the company. A developer or accountant working in one of the branches might be an expert in their domain, but when it comes to managerial issues concerning the efficacy of the company, a qualified MBA graduate would be a much preferred choice for obvious reasons.

Thirdly, if the company directly listens to complaints from employees, there might be complaints when the problems pertaining to a particular department or employee gets attended faster as compared to others. This could create feelings of jealousy or dissatisfaction among employees that would be more derogatory for the company's efficiency.

In conclusion, even though employees should be able to list out their issues and have forums etc. for confessing the problems they face, it should be qualified third-party consultants who should be called in to take the finalised action and decide how to run the company more efficiently.