Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected However since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations we cannot permit i

The given memorandum states that even though lots of lives could be saved if regular inoculations against cow flu were administered, due to the chance that a person might die from the inoculation itself, these inoculations are not administered regularly. However, the author has not given us any clear stats regarding his argument.

First of all, inoculation of most diseases contain dead or weakened form of the microorganisms causing that disease. Thus, the possibility of dying from them is much low as compared to the real diseases. If this is the same with cow flu, isn't it less riskier to let people be administered with the inoculation than leave them to be exposed without any protection? Even if there was a risk, especially in already infected areas, isn't it better to take the risk and have at-least a greater chance of survival instead?

Secondly the author fails to mention how infectious cow flu actually is. If it is as infectious as Covid-19 or bird flu, it would be much more imminent to inoculate everyone if one person in the vicinity is infected. However, if it is less infectious like the HIV virus for example, where spread of the disease can be contained more easily, inoculating everyone with even a small risk would not make much sense since it can be contained easily.

Further, one should also consider - how easily can the disease be identified once a person is infected? If it is not identifiable until the later stages, then inoculating people in infected areas would be much more important to save as many lives as possible. Lastly one should consider, what are the actual statistics regarding the risk from the inoculations, as compared to the fatality rate of the disease? Have more percent of people died during the trial runs of the inoculations than people who were actually infected?

In conclusion, there are a lot of statistical data and information about the disease itself which have not been provided to us. Whether people should be inoculated despite the risk or can more people be saved without the inoculations - this argument is dependant on a lot of other data that are missing and thus, coming to a solid conclusion regarding the conjecture given is not possible with just this information.