If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified the job should go to the applicant with more experience

As a relatively young person looking to join the workforce in the future, while reading such a topic my initial reaction is to disagree. However, instead of writing a personal reaction essay, I will try to look at this this objectively and give qualified reasons for my disagreement. Between two seemingly equally qualified candidates, the obvious choice for most companies would be to choose the more experienced one. However, we must ponder, is this always the correct choice?

Of course, experience is unequivocally an important criteria while hiring. An experienced person can adjust to any work environment faster. They already have a lay of the land and would be more efficient if given a task. Also, it would make it easier for companies to judge their social skills such as teamwork and coordination through their previous work experiences and would make them a preferential hire than an outlandish inexperienced candidate. That is why, while selecting fresh hires, companies often give preference to their interns or people who have worked there previously. This would help the company save up cost on training their hires and get work done more efficiently.

However, even though an easier and safer choice, this might not always be the best approach for a company. An inexperienced person brings a new, unbiased opinion and fresh ideas into a company. While experienced people might be tempted to approach a task in a similar, parochial manner, an inexperienced but efficient candidate might approach the problem in a more innovative way that might even impact the company in a big fashion. As history has shown great CEOs such as Bill Gates and Steve Jobs were not experienced when they started their own companies. They were in their 20s with limited experience and industry know-how. However, with their innovativeness and talent, they managed to grow their companies into one of the biggest brand names all over the world.

Then there are several young prodigious people in every field who, even though inexperienced, are much more talented than their experienced counterparts. For example, when Messi debuted at the mere age of 17 in competitive football, he was already a better performer than many experienced players. It is also seen that the value of experience differs field to field and generalising the value of experience in every job field would be wrong on any hiring team's part.

In conclusion, experience is important but while hiring a new candidate, there are several other criteria that one should look at. The given argument does not specify what criteria the two candidates are being judged upon and just focuses on experience. Instead, one should focus more on the temperament, talent and innovativeness of a candidate through interviews and tests to level the competition between applicants with varied degrees of experience and flush out the best candidates for the company's benefit.