People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and

Glancing back through the pages of history, most major turning points in the narrative have unfolded as a result of people questioning authority. Whether it was the French Revolution or the Russian revolution - it was the people who questioned the rules of the authority and decided to change their current predicaments, who could make a mark in history. Throughout the history of mankind it has been proven time and again that, whenever the authorities are given unchecked power, there has been guaranteed misuse of this power. Thus, one should always understand, comprehend and question, if needed, the orders or rules laid out by the authorities.

However, the idea of questioning the rules of authority, in itself, doesn't need to be converted into physical actions necessarily. Sometimes, questioning the rules of the authority actively makes one understand the thought processes or the reasons that these rules are being laid out in the first place. For example, in a democratic country, all citizens who are part of the voting bank need to question and understand the rules laid out by their leaders so that they can be responsible citizens who take the best decision for their society as a whole. Likewise, from my personal experiences during my internships, even in a corporate setting employees are urged to question the orders given by their managers instead of blindly following them. This helps the employees feel like their opinions are being heard while, at the same time, ensure that every decision of the company is checked and verified before it reaches the implementation stage.

Thus, in an ideal, utopian world, every decision by the authority is questioned and discussed by all the parties affected before it reaches the implementation stage. However, the plausibility of this in a real world scenario is extremely difficult. For example, in the current setting where most countries are ruled by a democratic government, it is not feasible for people to have all their questions addressed individually by the authorities regarding every new law or bill being passed. Moreover, sometimes the common man might fail to see the bigger picture and understand the real reasoning behind a decision being taken by a more experienced authoritative figurehead. If the government were to consult every involved party before taking any decisions, implementing any administrative ruling would become an extremely long and complicated process.

The solution to this problem is mostly solved through the existence of news and social media. These allows one to question any laws and rules in any setting and even have one's questions answered by the authorities. However, it is only when the authorities curb the power of people to question their decision and try to gain unchecked power that it becomes an unhealthy dynamic where people are forced to take physical action against the authority.

In conclusion, questioning the rules of the authority and not passively accepting them is an important quality that will allow a healthy relationship between the authority and its subjects. However, questioning does not always need to lead onto challenging the authority or taking up action against the authority. It can simply be a means to understand the decisions taken by the authority. The lack of questioning the authority leads to both unchecked power on the side of the authorities and blind faith or rebellion from the people, neither of which is a good dynamic for a working society.