Schools should do more to prepare students for the non academic aspects of adulthood

Schools play a very important role in shaping how a child perceives themselves and everything around them. They shape our beliefs, our ideas and our understanding of what is important in life. Schools instill a lot of important values such as honesty, integrity and team work in their students. However, more than all of this, what schools - and our education system as a whole - believes to be the most important aspect of a child's education is just academics. And while a strong academic understanding is inarguably important, is rote learning complicated mathematical formulas and historical facts more important than teaching students life skills, ethics and the ability to express themselves? While traditional methods of teaching and examination have sufficed in the past, in a modern world marked by constant shifts in economy, technology and environment, this system is no longer enough.

Adulthood is mostly based on understanding of non-academic aspects rather than academic subject knowledge and thus this should be the main focus of schools as well. As soon as students start living an independent life, they are faced with a plethora of issues such as filing taxes, paying rent or mortgage for property, managing funds and handling the stress or anxiety that comes with adulthood responsibilities. Preparing a student to face these issues and educating them about how to combat them during their school years can help students be become well-informed, functional adults who can easily acclimatise to the society. Knowledge about finance, the current economic situations, providing help during emergency medical situations and other necessary life skills, if taught in school, can help students save themselves from financial scams, economic crises and even other people's lives.

Furthermore, schools encourage their students to focus more on academics even if it's at the cost of sacrificing their passion. I have personally seen a lot of my classmates give up their passion of pursuing athletics, music, acting or other co-curriculars just so they could devote more time on academics. However, after approaching adulthood one can often understand the value of these co-curricular activities. Pursuing one's hobbies such as sports or music is recommended to help reduce stress and anxiety and increase one's focus.

Now, one might argue that teaching life skills and all other non-academic expertise should be taught outside of school, at home, while schools should focus on academics to prepare students for their careers. While there are some advantages to this argument - like parents would know their children better than school authorities and thus give them personalised training for the knowledge they lack, there are also a number of cons for this idea. Not all students have similar kind

of family situation and thus it is more constructive and equalising to have schools teach such non-academic aspects.

In conclusion, while a basic knowledge of all subject matters is important to function in the society, there is much more it takes to becoming a well rounded member of the society. Examining all students with varied interests, skills and intellect according to how well they can learn up the same textbook material does not provide a standardised method for testing how well a student can do in life. Thus, the education system in schools needs to adapt according to the modern times to prepare students for the lives they are actually going to lead in the future.