Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Schools are essentially the place where young teenagers as well as children have the opportunity to explore life in its early stages and find their place in the world. This would be one of the safest environments to introduce to these pupils a variety of different life skills. As a matter of fact it may be a society’s obligation to do so. This is because these skills are normally expected to be learned at home from family and interaction with a healthy social circle. Unfortunately many children do not have the opportunity to enjoy such nurturing upbringing. Especially children that come from low socioeconomic backgrounds often lack the family support required to acquire those skills. In that instance, schools must certainly step in or these children are never going to develop into well functioning adults and professionals.

To begin with, it would be very beneficial for most students to develop healthy social skills. A school and a classroom are an excellent place for such skills to be taught. This is because there is both abundance of interaction with peers as well as adult supervision. Children can learn in a protected environment how to form healthy relationships, how to argue in a productive manner, how to resolve conflict, how to express their feelings and also how to cope with authority. These are skills of utmost importance that a young adult needs to possess in order to live a full happy life regardless of his or her academic or otherwise professional path. That would also be an excellent environment for the kids to learn how to respond in a professional manner, again, regardless of their field.

Furthermore, it is more often than not that majority of high school graduates remain financially illiterate. This is a truly devastating reality if we think about it because no matter what their place will be in the income spectrum there is always a good chance these youngsters will lack the knowledge to handle their money. High school graduates should have along with their diploma a solid understanding of how to file for taxes, how to build good credit, how to establish emergency funds, how to save, how to husband their resources, and how to plan for retirement. If there was a significant turnout of such young adults there is no gainsay to the fact that this would be a society with a lot less problems to solve.

On a final note, it may be very useful to also take into account the possibility of incorporating more non-strictly-academic classes as options in the schools’ course catalogues. It is impossible to expect all children to love academics and to dream a life of college and graduate studies. It would be of great value to give these students the opportunity to explore other options in an establishment that is a lot safer and more organized than real life is. This way they can explore what their strengths and abilities are and be better prepared to make wiser professional choices in the future. These initiatives may cost some time and effort or even some money to the school system but they would greatly benefit the public good in the long run by securing the growth and development of rounded responsible adults.