People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the reasons for which the statement may or may not be true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It has always been said that do not follow anyone or anyone’s teaching or preaching blindly. It is the obligation of the people to give a thought about what has been said is it really for the goodwill of the society or the concerned area or people. The same is the case with people accepting the rules of authority passively. Although it might always be beneficial to follow the rules without questioning the authority, sometimes it would be great if a prolonged thought is given to the rules with the aim to understand the consequences or the after effects of following the rule.

People on individual level should always be aware of what is the rule, how will it affect the society, its citizens, nation or on a global level the entire world. The authority should be questioned so as to understand the underlying motive of the authority so as to know why the rule has been implied. Questioning the authority does not mean always to raise objections in a negative way. The doubts raised may as well be positive, so the people who are ready to follow the rule will do so willingly without any ill-will in their minds. Consider for example a simple rule imposed by the authority which states that as of now all the different kinds of taxes on products, services, etc will be clubbed together into a single tax. The people will surely not follow the rule blindly and instead raise questions to understand why this step was taken and what are the benefits or how are the common people going to get benefited. This questioning can be answered by the authorities easily and people would follow the rules happily.

Active participation of the people in knowing the rules is a very significant step on the part of the common people. The rules imposed may not always have a good effect for the people. For instance, if the authorities impose a rule which is only going to benefit the rich people of the society or it does not have a proper agenda as to why the rule is being imposed, the people raising question will give a hard time to the authorities. Instead of compelling to follow the rules blindly people raised their objections which had a negative effect on them.

However, it is not always right to question the authorities for each and every rule. The authorities are there at their level because of a comprehensive understanding about the ongoing situations and are well versed with the activities that are going on at a global level. For instance for protecting the nature and conserving the wildlife a law or rule has been passed which has significant positive effects on the nature, the people should in such cases follow the rule blindly and passively without trying to stir any objections. This will help the authority to take steps to further impose such rules with haste since no objections were raised for the similar kind of rule in the past.

Since there are so many varied opinions on the matter at hand, the topic remains a complex one where easy answers cannot be provided. There will always be difference in the thinking and ideas of different individuals. Perhaps, people would still follow their own custom of questioning each rule of the authority actively and other may follow the rules without giving it another thought.