Airline industry representatives have recently argued that flying is safer than driving, citing two separate studies. First, US statistics show that each year there are approximately 40,000 deaths in automobile accidents versus only approximately 200 in flight accidents. Second, studies indicate that pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the argument.

The airline industry representatives make a very bold conclusion that flying is safer than driving. There are couple of studies citied which are used as an evidence for supporting the conclusion. But, there are a lot many unwarranted and unstated assumptions which question the credibility of the claim.

First of all, is it always conducive to fly rather driving even while travelling for short distances? The representatives assume that the data from the studies can be used for all in general. For instance, couple of commuters are to travel to a place 30 miles away. As the distance is not too much, there wouldn’t be airplanes available which fly for only 30 miles. The commuters in this situation would prefer to go by automobile. The distance plays an important role and as there is no mention about any distance in either of the two studies, the statistics from it are of questionable nature. This in turn would weaken the claim of the representatives to a great extent.

Secondly, what is the frequency for the airplanes? The representatives have made an assumption that the airlines have a very good frequency with their airplanes. This certainly might not be the case. As it is well known, the airplanes amount for a huge cost to operate flying them continuously would not be efficient for the airline. Instead of this, the idea of driving proves to be better over flying. Consider an example; a certain executive of company needs to be at a place urgently. The flight takes a little over three hours and the drive takes around seven to eight hours. But there is no availability of any airplane for the particular destination until tomorrow. The best way to reach as soon as possible would be to drive, as he or she cannot afford to waste time waiting for a flight. This assumption if proven true, would lower the merit of the representative’s claim.

Furthermore, another major factor would be the cost incurred. Is the cost of driving and flying to a particular place the same? Is it affordable by the common masses? The answer to this may be crystal clear for many. The cheaper mode of transport would be use a car instead of flying to the place. For a family of four a single car would prove to be much cheaper than to pay for the flight fare for all of them. The study indicates that there are 40000 road accidents death compared to the 200 deaths while flying. There may a clear reason for this. There are millions and millions of automobiles on the roads and in comparison the airplanes flying number to mere thousands. So the number of accidents may very well be in proportion to each other or there’s a possibility that the percentage of air accidents deaths are greater. The studies do not provide firm evidence or compelling facts and the above stated assumption would weaken the claim of representatives.

As of now with the current evidences and facts, the statement stands flawed. If the representatives would be able to provide more irrefutable evidences and statistics with proper comparison then it would help in bolstering the conclusion that flying would indefinitely be a better option than to drive.