Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Creativity is a boon to the human kind. Creativity coupled with science and technology has led humanity to where it is right now. The claim states that creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence. By making the use of word ‘only’, it seems as too extreme for measuring intelligence by only one mean and that is creativity. In my opinion, it is disagreeable to a certain extent for the following reasons.

First of all, why is there a need to use creativity as the only measure for intelligence? It is not always necessary to judge a person’s intelligence by measuring to what extent the person is creative. For different people, intelligence would mean different things in various fields. Where at some places creativity would not be compulsory requirement for the individual to work or move ahead. For instance, consider a job in a software development company. The most efficacious software would be the one developed by an intelligent individual who may not at all be creative but has tremendous knowledge regarding the pertinent matter. As such if the creativeness he or she has is used to measure how intelligent someone is, the employee who developed the software would be ranked in the list as he is prosaic. But is it true in this case? It is definitely not. There are many other areas where creativity and intelligence do not go hand in hand. As such the claim would not be appreciated at particular places.

Furthermore, in reality only a most of people who are creative often aren’t interested in their intelligence. They love to follow to their passion irrespective of other people’s opinions. Taking into account the growing competition around the world in all the various sectors, creative people rarely make their careers in the art they are interested. Creative people often work in places where their creativity is not even required. In such a case, if creativity is used to measure the intelligence, the individual would be ranked last even though he work is efficacious and some malingerer who is not creative at all stands atop others only because of his bookish knowledge. The claim if followed does no justice to the creative people in both the cases as mentioned above.

However, there is another side to the claim. In certain cases creativity may be used to measure the intelligence depending on the situation. The word ‘only’ used in the claim makes the claim really situational. For instances, in the field of interior designers, the more creative the designer is, more is the work appreciated. As such creativity of the person involved can be used to measure the intelligence in the same group of people. Another profession that can be taken into consideration is the art of teaching. The more creative ways the teacher can find to convey the knowledge then more students would take a better liking to him or her than other professors. Such is the fluctuation of the claim’s validity in depending entirely on the situation.

In conclusion, the claim as of now is a very complex issue and due to different thought processes of different individuals it cannot have any easy answers. Depending on what is the interpretation of intelligence creativity can or cannot be used as a measure for intelligence.