Government funding for pure science endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to direct more funding towards humanitarian science projects.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to consider specific instances for which this statement may or may not be true

The stage at which the mankind is right now is all due to the rapid developments in science. For centuries, scientists and researchers have dedicated their life entirely to science and the inventions naturally following the researches. In previous years where the human being lived very archaic life it was necessary to look up to science for alleviating the sufferings faced by the global population all over the world. But as of today with so much progress in each and every field it may seem logical to reduce the funding for pure science endeavours, and to redirect it for the humanitarian science projects.

First of all, is the living of the citizens at a certain standard that major funding should be given to pure science projects? Depending on the current standards and situation at which the denizen of the country are living in, it will be possible to take a strong stand for or against the claim. For instance, if the majority of the populace of the country is living below the below poverty line, it would seem more viable for the government to look into the humanitarian projects rather than expanding the research for pure science. Providing better amenities takes precedence over pure science. Researches in science are done to improve the living conditions. But what is the use if the developments made until now are not used to the fullest. It would not be in the goodwill of the citizens of funds are diverted to pure science. The government will have to reduce the funding in order to maintain a healthy life for its citizens and full of comfort for the basic needs.

Many countries in the world are ravaged with diseases and all sorts of other medical ailments. It is the duty of the government to look after its people so that they can be cured and healed very rapidly. In such a situation if the government is not able to get funds from anywhere else, it would be a good choice to reduce the funds for pure science programs and redistribute it for researches trying to find cures and medicines for the widespread epidemics and other diseases. Pure science projects in today’s world have a secondary position. What will be the use of new scienctific discoveries if there is no population in future to celebrate it.

As always, as compelling it would seem to reduce the funds for pure science projects, it might not be the case always. Government in countries which have the highest standard of living, a good happiness index and little to no difficulties for the citizens may take a decision in support with the claim. Maintaining a healthy is living is important, but it is also very crucial to keep moving forward in the various scientific fields. A full stop to the new discoveries may very well have adverse effects in the coming future. But this would hold merit only if the citizens are happy and are provided with the best available technologies and services.

The conclusion is a very broad and indeed a complex one to take a side for. As such there are no easy answers for it. After all, it depends on the government’s ability to maintain the balance between both. So comprehensive understanding and knowledge about what is best for the country currently, the government may or may not reduce the funding for pure science projects and provide it for more and better humanitarian projects.