Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above article concludes that the new policy of company X would be to switch to a 4-days workweek and working 10 hours a day rather than the normal 5-days workweek with a 8 hours of work per day. The author provides a couple of evidences as to why the switch would help in increasing the company profits, but there are many unstated and unwarranted assumptions which need to be reasoned out.

First of all, the author assumes that the employees would not mind working 10 hours a day instead of 8 hours a day. After working for 8 hours on a pretty hectic day, there is a possibility that the stress build up is way too much for the employees to handle. The employees perhaps would want to work only 8 hours a day even if that would mean to attend the office 5 days in a week and not 4 days. Also the total working time for an individual employee in a week remains the same. There is a possibility of these condition being true which has not been taken into account by the company X, and if at all proves to be true would backfire the company’s idea to switch to alternate 4 days workweek schedule.

Secondly, the company claims to increase profit by boosting the morale of the employees by reducing their commute time. However there is no direct link between commute time and the morale of the employee. It might be the case that majority of the employees stay in the vicinity of the office and thus, commute not being a problem for them to come to the office. Others for examples may have a comfortable means of transportation for their daily commute and wouldn’t mind coming to the office for 5 days a week. The policy would only be helpful to the significant few who have problems for travelling to their workplace. There is a serious lack of sturdy evidence which would help in validating the company’s policy to generate more profits by making the proposed switch. If the above mentioned variables prove to be true the idea of switching to 4 days workweek does not hold water in company’s favour.

Furthermore, the most important assumption made is that the company would not go into loss if they keep their office closed on Fridays. Since what kind of work the company does is not mentioned, it would prove to be difficult for evaluating whether the company would surely have a surplus in profits or get inclined more towards losses. Maybe the company used to be operational on Fridays in a certain field which has the maximum amount of new jobs on Friday in which the company deals. It would prove to be a major blow to the company’s profits as well increases the stress on the employees for work in the next week. If the above stated unwarranted assumptions have merit then the idea of switching fails miserably.

The idea of making a switch for company X as now stands flawed. There is a serious lack of evidences and facts for the company to make a switch successfully and generate profits There is more than what meets the eye like the excluded variables not taken into account. If the author can provide more irrefutable evidences it would prove to be more efficient for the company X in making the decision to take a switch.