Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from

Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new,

Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to

boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to

explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Every organization seeks to maximize profits and constantly look for ways in which that can be achieved. Some companies even employ experts that help them develop ways in which they can maximize profit. Company X in their argument decided to reduce the number of working days from five to four days in order to increase profit.

The company also claimed that shutting down the offices on Friday will boost the employees morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week. There is not proof of any research done by the company in the argument to support their argument.

The company mandated employees to work 10 hours a day from Monday to Friday instead of 8 hours a day. The company assumed that working for 10 hours would automatically increase their profit. It was not stated if they carried out a research on their employees to know if the 8 working hours wasn’t enough for them. We do not also know if another research was carried on maybe their competitors to know if working for longer hours can automatically increase profit for the company. The 10 hours working hours can even cause low productivity on the part of the employees due to been over stretched and not having enough time to rest. Normally, humans at a point get tired of working and they would normally pack their bags even before the closing hours. If two more hours are added to their work time, this might even reduce their entire productivity as they don’t have enough time to rest.

Also, the company assumed that they do not make sales on Friday because if they do, they wouldn’t close down knowing fully well that they need to make more profit. Friday could even be the day they make most of their profits and they now want to shut down on that day. Before this stated assumption can be prove to be warranted, the company need to carry out a credible research to know if their expenses on fridays are greater than their profits in order to know if they say should be shut down.

Furthermore, the company assumes that the employees have nothing to do after working 8 hours a day that they just switched to 10 hours a day. Many people after office hours would like to go to the market, pick their children from school, cook, do laundry, prepare for the next day or even have family functions to attend. The company did not take into consideration this factors and how increasing working hours would affect these things. An employee may have to struggle more after work and even offend their children or family after missing important functions. This would not increase their morale in anyway, It would only give them more stress and reduce their morale.

In conclusion, the company did not give any tangible fact back up their decision. Their argument was just based on assumptions that might not work out for them or even cause them to lose out of the profit that they are already making. They need to carry out more intentional research on both their employees and customers to know how to get more profits before making such assumptions.