In the last year’s mayoral election in Town T, candidate Miller led candidate Keating by a substantial margin in the polls leading up to the election. At the last minute, candidate Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements that focused on preserving the natural environment of Town T, a topic neglected by candidate Miller. Subsequently, candidate Keating won the election by a narrow margin. This year, if candidate Miller hopes to win the upcoming mayoral election, he must increase his coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T. Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author proposes that candidate Miller has to increase his coverage on the topic of natural environment if he hopes to win the upcoming mayoral election. While it may be true that candidate Keating won the election the previous year due to the advertisement that focused on preserving the natural environment in which he launched, there is not enough evidence to proof the validity of the argument.

The author assumed that candidate keating won simply because of that advertisement without backing it up with facts. There was no survey carried out on the voters to know if they voted for him due to the advertisement. The winning could have happened to due different reasons. It could be that the majority that voted for him didn’t vote on time. It could even be that the region where he’s mostly supported had network issues that didn’t hindered them from voting on time. If research was carried out by the author then he needs to state them clearly to back up his claims.

Also, the author assumes that the problem of preservation of natural environment is still existing. As at the time of the election the previous year, the people might have been dealing with issues concerning the preservation of the natural environment which made them vote for candidate Keating but the question now is, is that problem still existing? Even if the problem of natural environment preservation does still exist, what if the people don’t want to be deceived again by any fallacious advertisement which controlled their votes the previous year. It could even be that there are more prominent issue of concern to the town such as employment, bad roads and many more which the people would like the new government to address other than preserving the natural environment which the author expect the intending mayor to solve.

Mayor Keating may even decide to contest again. The author didn’t say anything concerning a possible re-election of the current Mayor. If indeed the people voted him due to the preservation of the natural environment, he might have implemented some rules or carried out some activities in support of the preservation that the people may like and want him to continue. If this is the case, then candidate Miller may stand no chance of winning.

While this argument presents an interesting hypothesis, the data presented is not enough to proof the validity of the argument. The winning of candidate Keating cannot simply be tied to series of advertisement he launched as there are no facts to back up it’s credibility. Furthermore, even if the advertisement influenced the voters choice of their candidate in the previous year, the author cannot be certain that it would still work for this coming election as people change, the environment changes and the reasons for their decisions can also change.