Advertising with Cable Communications Corp. is the most effective way to increase a company’s profits. Recently, Adams Car Dealership began advertising with Cable Communications, and over a subsequent 30-day period, the dealership’s sales rose 15% over sales the previous month. In addition, the company’s customer ratings show that people who purchase newcars from Adams are more satisfied with the quality and performance of their vehicles than are car dealership customers on average. Customer satisfaction has been found to be a key factor in positive word-of-mouth publicity.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that the most effective way to increase profits in a company is through advertisement with cable communications Corp may seem logical at first glance. However, the argument is based on certain assumptions about how a car dealer was able to increase sales through the cable communications Corp. Therefore the argument is fundamentally flawed and unconvincing.

First, the author assumed that the dealership sales increased by 15% when compared to that of the previous month simply because the advertisement was aired for a subsequent 30 day period. The author failed to put into consideration the other factors that might have caused the increase. The car dealership might have advertised in a popularly watched program in the cable Corp, viewerships are usually at a high level for programs that are popular and this might have made more people know about the product. Also the author did not establish the relationship between the advertisement and increased rate of purchase. Indeed, more people might have gotten to know about the dealership through the advertisement but that does not mean that more people will purchase cars from them. If there was a deliberate attempt to know how the new customers got to know about them then this argument would have been valid.

I’m addition, the writer assumes that the company’s customers ratings indicating that customers who purchased cars from Adam’s dealership are more satisfied than other car dealerships are as a result of the advertisement made on the cable communications corps. Advertisement can only increase the publicity of a brand but cannot increase the quality and performance of a product. The highly praised quality of the cars can only be attributed to the company selling cars of good quality, no form of advertisement can cause this to happen.

Also, the author failed to account for other publicity measures taken by the dealership company. The company might have also along side the cable communications advertisement paid social media influencers to influence the company on social media or even paid for paid-advertisements on google, YouTube and other platforms.

The company might have invested in a very expensive and entertaining advertisement which has successfully captured the heart of many. For example, Toyota car brand became so popular due to an advertisement that was aired in 2004 which won the heart of many. Toyota had done previous advertisements on cable communications corps that only few people had noticed because the content of the advertisements had not been catchy enough. Therefore, the kind of advert the car dealership had done might have caused the increase in purchase.

This argument is based on so many assumptions that the writer had way to proof. The writer could not establish a direct relationship between the increase in sales and the advertisement. The author also assumed that the company did not put in place other means of advertisement aside from the cable communications Corp. There was also a misinterpretation of the customers quality satisfaction with publicity. The author depended on so many assumptions that proved the argument unwarranted.