Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

A school is made up of many components such as the teachers, administrative staff, students and most importantly the structure itself which is the school building. School buildings are so important that most parents get fascinated by the buildings before determining the academic standard of the school. In a situation where school buildings are in need of repair, the administration of the school will have to find funds to carry out the repair, but should schools cut funding for extracurricular activities to fix the damaged school buildings? I do not think so as extracurricular activities are also very important in students development.

Extracurricular activities such as sports and arts are crucial to the development of children as a children spend most of their formative years in school. Extracurricular activities have been know to develop other skills such as football, music, instruments, public speaking and many more in children. So many people have gotten to the acme of their careers with the skills they acquired in schools through this extracurricular activity. This is an important activity in the school that shouldn’t be jeopardized in any way.

Also, there are many other ways in which the school can raise funds for the building repairs. Funds can be raised through contributions from associations such as the PTA (Parent Teachers Association) for example. PTA is an association that includes the parents and teachers for the purpose of discussing issues concerning the schools and raising funds when necessary. It is most certain that parents would prefer to raise these money than divert funds from a very important aspect of their children’s schooling. The school can even explore options such as loans that they can pay back gradually from the children’s school fees.

Some may argue that why should the school have to go through all of that to raise funds when funds from extracurricular activities can easily be diverted temporarily to give the children a befitting structure conducive for learning. Their argument maybe justified but that would be only if the school has explored other options that has been futile.

More so, we do not even know if the funds for extracurricular activities would be enough to fund the building repair. We do not know the extent of the damage or even the amount used for extracurricular activities. Why then should activities that relieve children of their stress and even develop crucial skills that become very useful to many of them be jeopardized because of damaged school structure. Schools collected tuition fee which should be enough for the running of the school including repair of damaged structures, and should in case the tuition fee is not enough they should resort to other means of raising funds and not cut funding for any important activity of the school such as extracurricular activity.