Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors: Aleph

Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders

approximately 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. Aleph’s dormitory, however, has required

approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years. Therefore, to

construct their new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local university should hire Aleph

Construction.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions in the expert’s claim. Be

sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the

argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The expert suggested that the local university should hire Aleph construction without stating clearly why there was a difference in the nearly identical building. A lot of reasons that are not clearly stated may have accounted for the difference in construction price of these buildings, the author need to state them clearly as many of these assumptions maybe unwarranted.

The expert stated clearly that the buildings were nearly identical and it cost Gimmel 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. This simply means that the buildings were not the same. There must have been different structural members in the building which would make it cost more. I have personally seen buildings that are identical outside but the inside would be totally different. The difference in this buildings could have been in structural members, extra rooms in the building or even design. Another thing that wasn’t stated is the soil type. The soil for Gimmel building might have been a water logged soil that must have required water draining and soil filling during construction. The author automatically assumed that since they were almost identical, Aleph should be hired not taking into consideration all the differences that might have caused the difference in construction price.

Also, it was stated that over the last five years, Aleph dormitory has required 10 percent more in maintenance cost per year. If this dormitory has required 10 percent more, we do not know if the maintenance cost would eventually be too much at the long run. Furthermore, for it to require more maintenance cost, it might mean that the dormitory was not properly constructed at the initial stage and they are now making up for it during maintenance. The company might have used sub-standard materials or not filled the soil properly causing the building blocks to soak in water and constantly peel away the paint of the building. Before the author can conclude that Aleph should be hired again, he needs to explain in details why their building has caused 10 percent more to maintain and calculate properly if this amount won’t make the overall cost more.

These buildings were constructed five years ago, a lot might have changed for both companies over the years. Aleph might have acquired their own personal equipments if they had to rent equipments to use during the construction of the dormitory five years ago which may have caused the difference in their price. Gimmel Builders on the other hand may have restructured their company and ensure that profit is fully maximized in case they had to reduce their profit just to get the contract at that time. Also, it could be that they compromised on quality causing more maintenance fee for the building which they might have decided not to do again.

The expert also didn’t take into account other construction companies that are available to pick from. Surely there must have been many other construction companies five years ago and even many more now. These other companies might even be more be more affordable than the two considered. Also, the author didn’t state clearly the kind of dormitory to be constructed. We do not know if it’s identical with any of the two previously constructed or totally different. It could even be a steel structure that Aleph construction does not have a skilled structural Engineer for that might cause them to hire one which will incur more cost for them. These assumptions made by the expert have failed to address crucial issues that might prove the validity of his argument.