Material on the Internet should be censored or controlled to protect the public.

In my opinion, material on the Internet should not be censored. The Internet is a free zone and it would be wrong for this area to be controlled. Plus, what government or agency would be responsible for censoring the Internet, which is available worldwide?

First of all, material on the Internet should not be censored because the Internet is a free zone . The Internet is not owned by any one government or company. This means that no one should have the right to say what can or cannot be posted on it. Companies or governments can control what material shows up on their websites, but they cannot control what private citizens do. Second, technology makes it too difficult to censor material on the Internet. Every day, new computer programs are developed that make other programs obsolete. As soon as someone figures out how to censor material on the Internet, someone else can figure out how to break the code. This means that a tremendous amount of money would have to be spent on developing new technology, and this expense would not be worth it.

As this essay has demonstrated, material on the Internet should not be cen sored. The Internet is too big to be controlled, and the technology involved in censoring it would be too expensive.