Restaurants should be required to display nutritional information about the food they serve.This knowledge will help diners make healthy choices and reduce their risk of diet-related health problems.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Requiring restaurants to display details about the nutrition of the food they serve might be quite a lot. Restaurants would have to spend on employing a nutrition expert to carefully analyze the details of each food as it is such a delicate act that requires expertise. Also, restaurants would also have to spend on the presentation of these details so as to make it accessible to diners. This new development can even reduce the amount of customers that patronize these restaurants. Despite the number disadvantages this may cause the restaurants, the advantages are more in the long run and I definitely support the innovation.

Food is very important for the body and bad food or excess of a particular type of food can cause harm to the body. Excess fat and oil in the body causes increased cholesterol in the body which can later result to different kinds of heart related diseases. Also, excess salt can cause a trigger in the system of an hypertensive patients, renal patients too need to make careful decisions about their choice of meal. Recently, there has been increase in the number and frequency at which people eat out due to the changing nature of jobs, people are spending more time in their jobs or running their businesses, also the narrative of home cooked meal being the best is changing. Therefore, since most people who are either battling with health challenges or trying to prevent health challenges eat out, restaurants will do more good by listing the nutritional information of each meal they prepare in order for diners to make careful decisions regarding their health.

Furthermore, diners have always had the opportunity of deciding the kind of meals they choose to eat ranging from rice to beans and even to snacks, it would only be fair to give diners the opportunity to choose based on the nutritional information. This may cost the restaurants a lot but if all restaurants decide to do this together, the benefits will be realized in the long run. Diners would start trusting the restaurants more and might even encourage people who have their reservations about restaurants food to start trusting more. This means that restaurants will most likely gain more customers for themselves. Allergy is also an issue that most battle with. Some diners eat out without knowing the constituents of the food they eat in restaurants and end up having allergy crisis later on. This nutritional information will eliminate such issues.

Nutritional information of meals served in restaurants are very crucial, they may cost the restaurants a lot at first but with time it won’t be so much of an issue to the restaurants. Diners would learn to trust restaurants more and could even earn the trust people who do not really trust food eaten in restaurants.