If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience .

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your postion, you should consider the specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how this examples shape your position

Companies set up different criteria to choose their most preferred candidate. It could be from grades from schools, a smart test for applicants, soft skills, interviews or even a combination of all. If at the end of the day, two applicants are both qualified for the jobs, I do not believe that the applicant with more experience should be chosen for the job. There are several other ways to pick the best, it could be from a test or another interview. It could even be as trivial as deciding based on punctuality. They both need to be given fair chances to compete as they are both qualified.

If all companies decide to employ applicants with more experience at every instance, it may be harmful at the long run. This can cause a situation whereby people remain unemployed due to lack of experience and even never get to have the experience required in the long run. At a point, people would be doing jobs lower than their qualifications or even remain unemployed. The companies might even start lacking in staff due to their rigid requirements. Everyone should’ve given the opportunity to learn on the job either by being attached to a senior colleague and being left to figure it out on their own.

In addition, companies these days even create internship programs where they train graduates to become more employable for them. This training breaks the bias in employment because they become fully skilled after the training. As a result, employing based on experience would not be an option for choosing one out of two qualified candidates. Most people even have the required experience from their institutions. I studied a five year course and had the opportunity to intern with two different construction company for one year which gave me more insight into the practical aspect of my study. This particular training has given me the experience required and more of this experience might mean no additional knowledge.

Also, for a person to have more experience simply means he must have been given the opportunity to learn on the job or even learn from senior colleagues. This is an opportunity that should be given to everyone. It is even possible that the one with less experience will have better work ethics, knowledge and soft skills. How is having more experience even equating to know more. A person might spend 5 years repeating the same thing and getting no additional knowledge while a person with 3 years experience might know more. This makes us how it is decided that a person has more experience. Could it be based on length of previous work done or the quality of previous work done.

Although there are jobs where experience is of high importance such as the construction company. Companies usually look out for experienced employees so as to minimize hazards on site and avoidance of constructing unsafe structures. In this instance, it might be necessary to employ the applicant who is more experienced. This criteria should only apply in few instances where internship opportunities are not opened by the companies.